We are proud to foster science and technology in the Otago region. Since 2004, we have been the prime sponsor of the annual Aurora Energy Otago Science and Technology Fair, supporting the thinking behind some of New Zealand’s youngest scientists. We congratulate the many students who participate in the Fair each year with the support and inspiration of their teachers and families.

2019 Aurora Energy Science and Technology Fair

The 2019 Aurora Energy Otago Regional Science and Technology Fair will be held from 5th to 11th August, in the Otago Museum’s Hutton Theatre. Judging will take place on Monday 5th and Tuesday 6th August and the fair will be open to the public from Wednesday 7th August to Sunday 11th August.

The prize giving ceremony will be held at the St David Lecture Theatre at 3pm, Sunday 11th August.

A Central Otago event will also be held on 1st and 2nd of August with judging on Thursday 1st August and the fair open to the public from Thursday afternoon through Friday the 2nd August. 

Teacher resources

Here is background information and entry forms for the 2019 Fair:

Information for schools 2019 - Dunedin (PDF)

Information for schools 2019 - Central Otago (PDF)

2019 OSTA membership application (PDF)

Entry Form - Dunedin 2019 (PDF)

Entry Form - Central Otago 2019 (PDF)

Guidelines - Research on Human and Animal subjects (PDF)

Guidelines - Research on Micro-Organisms (PDF)

Ethics for animals - flow chart (PDF)

Prize Categories 2019 

More information

Please contact Steve Sexton, Fair Convenor, if you have any questions.  


The 2018 Aurora Energy Science and Technology Fair attracted 264 entries from more than 300 students representing 25 schools in Dunedin and across Central Otago. 

The winner of the Aurora Energy Premier Award, Best in Fair 2018, was Ollie Meikle a Year 13 student at Kavanagh College. His project focused on why the Horopito has red leaves, titled "Ambulance at the bottom of the cliff."

Photo below: 2018 Best in Fair Winner, Ollie Meikle is congratulated by Aurora Energy CFO Gary Dixon.

 Science Fair 2018 Winner pic

Past winners of the Aurora Energy Premier Award - Best in Fair

  • 2017 - Corrie Anderson, Year 13, Columba College for her project “Horopito: Insecticidal properties and chemical structure analysis of a New Zealand native plant”
  • 2016 – Aaron Nelson, Year 7, Balmacewen Intermediate for his project “RATs” – a Robotic Automatic Table-setter
  • 2015 – Samuel Hulbe Pulver and Timothy Hulbe Pulver, Year 7, Dunedin North Intermediate for their project “Do I look like a scientist to you?”, exploring non conscious gender bias
  • 2014 – Meran Campbell-Hood, Year 12, Logan Park High School, Dunedin for her project “North by North-West” on the detection of soil nutrients using digital photography of plants
  • 2013 – Grant McNaughton, Year 10, Logan Park High School, Dunedin for his project "Branching Out", testing a Leonardo da Vinci theory about trees
  • 2012 – Hamish McMillan, Year 13, John McGlashan College, Dunedin for his project “Will varroa affect honeybee diversity?”
  • 2011 – Ryan Whelan, Year 8, John McGlashan College, Dunedin, for his project on which food goldfish prefer and what food generates the greatest weight gains